Server: Racket, Starter Edition now available

I’m happy to announce that my ebook Server: Racket—Practical Web Programming with the Racket HTTP Server now has two editions: starter, and full-stack. Both are available at

Server: Racket is a series of tutorials covering many of the common topics and problems in web development. My aim is to jump-start your web development in Racket. If you’re new to Racket and want to see how it can be useful for web work, or if you’ve tried to get into Racket for the web and didn’t really get anywhere, I’ve written the book for you.

The book now has two editions:

The Starter Edition is meant for those who would like to dip their toes into Racket web development. It covers topics that are available in a default installation of Racket. It covers the following topics:

  1. The servlet: In the beginning there was request?response?
  2. Routes: URL-based dispatching
  3. Error handling
  4. Logging
  5. Working with JSON data
  6. HTML templates
  7. Processing HTML forms
  8. Handling AJAX requests
  9. Cookies
  10. Testing

The Full-Stack Edition contains everything that the Starter Edition contains, and goes deeper into a number of specialized Racket packages and web development practices that are likely to be needed when building up a more substantial site.

  1. Using a relational database (db, sql)
  2. Session management (redis)
  3. Environment variables (dotenv)
  4. JSON Schema validation (argo)
  5. Models (object-relational mapping) (racquel)
  6. Sending HTTP requests (http)
  7. Caching with memcached (memcached)
  8. Database migrations with Phinx
  9. Racket and Docker
  10. A CRUD-style HTTP API
  11. Deploying a Racket site behind a proxy server